Support & Download

Which Macs have Thunderbolt Ports?

The following models are Thunderbolt capable:

- MacBook Pro with Retina display (Mid 2012 and later)
- MacBook Pro (Early 2011 and later)
- MacBook Air (Mid 2011 and later)
- Mac mini (Mid 2011 and later)
- iMac (Mid 2011 and later)
- Mac Pro (Late 2013)

The following models are Thunderbolt 2 capable:
- MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 and later)
- Mac Pro (Late 2013) 
- iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
- Mac mini (Late 2014)
- iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2015)
- iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
- MacBook Air (13-inch, post Early 2015)

Though Mini-DisplayPort's connectors look the same as Thunderbolt ports, they are essentially different.
Mac models that are not listed above do not have Thunderbolt ports, but users can still access SJM300/500 by using USB ports on those Mac devices.

Is the answer helpful?


Technical Support

If the answer can't help you, you can contact the Tech Support Department

Get started